Ka-Blammo

Check out these photos.

I was out on a training ride today aboard my prized Serotta Legend Ti bicycle, and the drive train started making a noise bikes aren’t supposed to make. Sort of like “fingernails on a blackboard”, combined with “V8 motor running at redline runs out of oil”. I limped home and traced the noises to the bottom bracket.

Up on the work stand in my garage, I unbolted and removed the port-side crank. A handful of shards and ball bearings fell out on the floor and scattered. Using my amazing powers of deduction, I concluded this was not good.

Blown-up Starboard Bearing

Port-Side Bearing Completely Destroyed

Bearing Cup With No Bearing

Not only was it un-good for my bottom bracket, but in the process of limping home, the axle was scored by the grab-bag of sharp pieces rattling around the BB, so I’ve got to replace the crankset too.

Ball Bearings

There was so much sharp flotsam and jetsam on the floor of my garage, I had to vacuum it. These are a few of the ball bearings I was able to round up with my fingers.

Aeronautical engineers call this sort of thing “an uncontained catastrophic failure”.

I call it $500.

On the other hand, I didn’t have to walk home in my bike shoes, or hitch a ride, as I’ve done several times this year after catastrophic failures.

And most importantly, I wasn’ t hurt.

I’m not as young as I once was, and I don’t heal all that quickly any more.

About The Mighty Skunk

I'm a Boffin
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ka-Blammo

  1. Kevin Hillock says:

    Hey Skunk

    Do you sweat much? Looks like salt from perspiration got into your bottom bracket. I seizured a Dura ace front derailleur last summer. Cheers

Leave a Reply

