New Rental Car Scam

A new scam to watch out for. I rented a car at PHL from BUDGET. The contract read 1000 free miles, then 25 cents per mile thereafter. Mileage limitation was meaningless to me, since I intended to drive no more than 250 miles that week.

Returned the car, got the e-bill. The rental was supposed to be about $600. The bill was for $950. Checked the bill carefully. Discovered I was charged for driving 3500 miles.

WTF? No….I did not jump in the car, drive straight to Denver, and then drive it back to PHL and return it.

Sent flame mail to Budget Customer Service. They apologized, noted they were wrong, and said they’d fix my credit card bill……within 60 days.

Due to the weather, I’ve been either up in the air or screaming at American Airlines for a day and a half now, and I’ve only gotten as far as LAX. But as soon as I get home I am calling American Express and demanding the entire charge be taken off my tab until Budget straightens this out.

About The Mighty Skunk

I'm a Boffin
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

