Hiking and Camping in the Haleakala Crater

My idea of “camping” is to stay at a Ritz-Carlton with no room service. Nevertheless, I reluctantly agreed to go hiking and camping in the Haleakala Crater for three days. We stayed in the National Forest Service cabin at Paliku for two nights, then at another cabin called Holua for a third night. No electricity, non-potable water from a catchment system,  outhouses. No cell service.

Much to my surprise, I enjoyed myself.

Holua Cabin With Liliwei Overlook A Paliku Cabin Paliku Canyon Wall Paliku Pasture View of Sliding Sands from Paliku

About The Mighty Skunk

I'm a Boffin
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hiking and Camping in the Haleakala Crater

  1. The Big Guy says:

    Looks awesome…
    Skunk vocabulary lesson:
    Primitive camping=no cable

  2. I missed almost 4 days of the NBA Playoffs. Much to my surprise, it didn’t kill me.

Leave a Reply

